Consistantly Inconsistant

I was talking to a colleage today describing a student I absolutely adore. He’s one of those kids who is exceptionally creative, insightful, kind, and smart. He’s also one of those kids who never turns anything in on time, if at all, and for whom standardized tests were not designed. He’s consistently inconsistant.

I can always rely on him to make me laugh, but can’t count on him to be on time to anything. I depend on him to get my jokes and educate his peers about how funny I am, but can’t be sure he will turn his assignment in. He always gets it. And sometimes shows it.

It took a few months, but I finally realized why I like this kid so much. He’s the best thing about teaching; reliable randomness. You know they will say something, but you can never be sure what that something is. And that friends, is what makes teaching the best job in the world.

He is amazing. I miss him already.
He is amazing. I miss him already.

Leave a Reply

