India is like a book…

A few months ago I made the decision to leap into the 21st century and start a blog for my class. Little did I know that that one tiny decision would spark such enthusiasm from my fifth graders. I mean these kids are CRAZY about this blog. They are required to make one blog post a day and most entries are centered around what they are reading. However, every so often I will find a little gem that begs to be shared with the world.

Connor, a new student to ASB this year, joined my class in September. When he learned that I require my students to write every night, his eyes rolled back and he let out an audible sigh. Needless to say, he was not thrilled about the prospect of writing every day and thought it a waste of time. That was September. It’s now December and I am happy to report that Connor is not only a talented writer, he is the number one contributor to our blog. His posts are creative, well written, and profound. In fact, his writing was so good yesterday that I shared it with our Superintendent who, in turn, shared it with the entire ASB community. Connor is now a published author and I couldn’t be prouder!

Connor was able, in one short entry, to inspire an entire international community. Connor is why I do what I do. Teaching is the best job in the world. Follow this link to Connor’s words. Does it give you goosebumps too?

http://asbteam5a.blogspot.com/2011/12/what-i-am-taking-home-from-india-from.html

 

Here’s what our superintendent wrote:

http://campaign.r20.constantcontact.com/render?llr=sgud54gab&v=001rj64Pj8NTf4ISgwN4cSdZVs2Rsv5cxq6i-w36-Ln4hYnYt3nLGp5vYY_2TRejwNGhR35gvO9kDOZDYuyeRQIVurGSGWZi4hBOkVIpp5ssO_r6_YxsPNzEA%3D%3D

Leave a Reply

